André Kahn Sleep Award

In the commemoration of Prof. Dr. André Kahn, the BASS has introduced a scientific award with the specific aim to promote and reward original research related to the field of sleep and sleep medicine of individual members. The prize is intended to facilitate active participation of the laureate in an international scientific symposium. The award was first issued in 2000 and was consolidated into an annual tradition. As from 2021, only one André Kahn award will be given.

Rules for the André Kahn Sleep Award

The laureate of the scientific contest organized during the Autumn meeting of the BASS will receive the "André Kahn Sleep Award". This award is a stipend that will allow participation in any international congress of personal preference and presentation of the laureate's original work during this conference. The laureate's personal expenses with respect to travelling by air or train, meeting registration and lodging for the duration of the congress may be covered by the prize.

The prize will be presented to the participant whose presentation received the highest quote by the jury. The topic must be related to clinical-medical, clinical-scientific or basic-scientific aspects of sleep. The laureate will be awarded 2000 €.

Candidates must be younger than 65 years. At least one of the co-authors of the presented paper must be a member of the BASS. 
One candidate is entitled to only one presentation. 
The abstracts, one A4 page, must be sent to the BASS secretary or to , at least 2 weeks before the actual meeting.  In case there are more than 10 abstracts, the jury may decide to make a preselection.
All abstracts and presentations must be in English. The presentation consists of a 10 minutes oral communication using slides or overhead sheets + 2 minutes discussion.

The candidates are judged with respect to originality of the topic, scientific relevance and quality of the presentation.
The jury consists of  members of the BASS board plus delegates of Belgian universities not represented in the board or foreign invited speakers present during the scientific meeting. If a BASS board member is co-author of one of the abstracts presented, he or she will not judge this particular abstract.
The president of the BASS is chair of the jury.
The jury makes a decision immediately after the last presentation by secret vote. The result is communicated at the end of the scientific meeting.

The prize is given to the laureate by the president of the BASS.

Laureate 2022

Simon Hellemans (UZ Antwerp)

Efficacy and dosage of acetazolamide for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea

Laureate 2021

Fre Bauters (Ghent U)

Relationship between sleep apnea, hypertension and blood pressure in the general population: different susceptibility between men and women?

Laureate 2020

Kathleen Schoovaerts (AZ Sint-Blasius)

Sleep-disordered breathing after

lung transplantation: an observational cohort study

Laureate 2019

Anna Peiffer (ULB)

The developmental advantage of sleep Children outplay adults in sleep-dependent memory consolidation processes at equal learning performance

Laureate 2019

Jan Van Erum (UA)

Sleep architecture and EEG spectral analysis in the Tau58/4 mouse model of tauopathy

Laureate 2018

Jan Van Erum et al. (UAntwerp)

Sleep architecture changes in the APP23 mouse model manifest at the onset of cognitive deficits

Laureate 2017

Bérénice Delwiche et al. (ULB/VUB)

Objective vs subjective sleepiness: same difference?

Laureate 2016

Giulia Gaggioni et al.(ULG)

Age-related differences in the dynamics of cortical excitability and cognitive inhibition during prolonged wakefulness

Laureate 2015

Liese Exelmans & Jan Van den Bulck (KUL)

“Glued to the tube”: the interplay between self-control, evening television viewing, and bedtime procrastination

Laureate 2014

Bart Vrijsen (KUL)

Noninvasive ventilation improves sleep in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis: a prospective polysomnographic study

Laureate 2012

Jana Maes (UZA):

Association between sleep misperception, sympathetic EEG- and ECG- activity and distribution of K-complexes and sleep spindles in primary insomnia.

Laureate 2011

Johan Wuyts (VUB)

How negative expectations disturb sleep quality

Laureate 2010

Nathalie Pattyn (VUB)

Asmo: antarctic sleep monitoring
sleep-wake regulation and concurrent autonomic activation, circadian rhythms, physical activity and their impact on mood and performance during two antarctic summer expeditions 

Laureate 2009

Olivier Mairesse (VUB)

The cognitive-algebraic nature of alertness judgments

Laureate 2008

Thien Thanh Dang-Vu (ULG)

Spindles inhibit auditory processing during sleep

Laureate 2007

Aisha Cortoos (VUB)

A tele-neurofeedback versus a tele-biofeedback protocol in insomnia: a preliminary study

Laureate 2006

Thien Thanh Dang-Vu (ULG)

Active brain processes during quiescent sleep

Laureate 2005

(Ex Aequo) Jean-Etienne Poirrier (ULG):

ARD, an automated device for REM sleep deprivation in rats

Laureate 2005

(Ex aequo): Jan De Backer (UA)

Modelling of upper airway and the assessment of a mandibular advancement device (MAD) in a sleep apnea patient using Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD)

Laureate 2004

(Ex aequo) Elke De Valck (VUB)

Effect of experimentally induced cognitive arousal on sleep latency, somatic and cortical arousal

Laureate 2004

(Ex aequo) Stijn Quanten (VUB)

Thermoregulatory responses in driver sleepiness

Laureate 2003

Olivier Van Der Veken (UZA)

Upper airway obstruction during central sleep apnea evidenced by forced oscillation technique

Laureate 2002

Edwin Verstraeten (VUB)

Servier Award:
Electrophysiology of arousal versus task-related attention in sleep apnea

Laureate 2001

Vincent Joseph (ULB)

Gestational hypoxemia induces long-lasting effects on the circadian clock and its response to light

Laureate 2000

An Mariman (UGent)

Vocalization during episodes of prolonged expiration : a parasomnia related to REM sleep


This website may use cookies which enable you to personalize your experience on our site, tell us which parts of our website people have visited and give us insights into user behavior so we can improve our communication and products.

Settings   Info  



These cookies are essential to enable you to browse around our website and use the features.
These cookies enable storage of information that changes the way a website behaves or looks, like settings for your preferred language or region.
These cookies collect information about how you use our website. These cookies are also used to let affiliates know if you came to one of our websites from an affiliate. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous.

Info most common cookies

Cookie Name  Value  ExpiresTypedescription